Wapping Tunnel

(Photos 1-6 © Keffa, photo 7 © Dave Root, photos 8-9 © Waterways)

Built on a severe 1 in 48 gradient, the line through Wapping tunnel from Liverpool docks was originally rope-worked, with wagons hauled up to Edge Hill by a stationary steam engine. Opened in 1830, it was one of the earliest railway tunnels and, at 2,111 yards, one of the longest. At the docks end, it splits into three.

Above ground, Wapping boasts three imposing ventilation towers. Closed in 1972, Merseyrail is reportedly considering reopening the tunnel, allowing its services to reach Huyton and St Helens.

Click on this icon for more of Keffa's Wapping shots (28 Days Later)
Change page
Previous gallery Next gallery
Gallery thumbnails
Page history
June 09

Back to the top